This has been a long and a short month both in one. I’ve had countless things to do and many headaches to fight and even an illness (which is still present), which meant that I practically didn’t read and didn’t have time for anything really. Nevertheless I managed to buy so many books (obviously buying > reading), that I actually feel like it can’t be only this month. 

I have a list of quite popular books this month, because as I’ve said before – I have started to tackle my to-be-read list and also some of my personal interests. Hopefully March is going to be a lot more productive for me bookwise.

Rainbow Rowell – Attachments
I am not a fan of Rowell’s work, I’ve read two her books and one novella and felt like the shorter the work, the better I liked it. Nevertheless, I have decided at last to give a chance to her book for adult audience.

Lincoln works as an Internet security officer, which actually means that he needs to read emails sent within the company and check, if there’s anything inappropriate. He reports dirty jokes and other things that shouldn’t be sent during the work hours, but once he comes across Jen and Beth’s hilarious conversations, he can’t help but be captivated by the emails and decides to not turn them in. Unfortunately for him, when Lincoln realises that he is falling for Beth, it is too late to introduce himself.

Lisa Genova – Still Alice
I have not seen the film adaptation, but I’ve heard so much about it as well as seen the trailer. I’m not sure exactly how excited I am for this one, but I hope that I will feel the thrill, emotions and pain while reading it.

This book is about Alice who has worked hard to be where she is – a professor at University with three grown up children married to a successful and loving man. But things do not stay the same. Alice starts to become forgetful, sometimes she doesn’t know where she is or how to get to the place she wants to go to… and a crushing diagnosis changes her life forever. Still Alice is a depiction of Alice’s life and battle with early-onset Alzheimer’s disease.

Anthony Doerr – All the light we cannot see
I know that this book is popular though my hopes have gone down when my friend Linda read it and said that it was an okay book. Fast paced and interesting, but nothing really that special. And you know, there’s a point at which WWI and WWII just gets old. You might say that it is not true, but then, you obviously haven’t spent years and years learning and reading about it at school. And as I said in my review of MAUS, in fact one starts to develop an attitude, if war is pushed into them since they’re kids. But here I am planning to give it a chance. I might have discouraged myself just now actually…

This is a story about a blind French girl and a boy who’s paths cross in occupied France during the World War II. She has flees from Paris while he learns to fix radios – a very crucial skill during the war. It’s a story about people who try to be good to one another despite the war and destruction.

Jennifer Niven – All the bright places

This book has been rotating through my goodreads friends lists quite often and mostly with good reviews and thoughts about the book. Not to mention that there was a huge buzz, when this book came out. I did take my time to get to this, because it has been both compared to Eleanor & Park and Fault in our stars, which I both disliked quite a bit.

Theo is fascinated by death, he thinks about suicide a lot, but every time something small and good stops him. Violet on the other hand can’t wait for the future to escape her town and recent death of her sister. When Violet and Theodore meets, they are not sure, who saved whom, but they do discover new edges to their personality and a friendship they didn’t expect to find. Only with Violet Theo can be himself, but he also notices that as Violet’s life begins to grow, his – begins to shrink.

Jonathan Stroud – The amulet of Samarkand
Two years ago, I decided to put this book closer to the top of my to-be-read list, because an acquaintance of mine read the whole trilogy and said that it is very good and definitely worth a read. Which means that I was really happy that this book caught my eye in the story and at last I bought it.

Nathaniel is a boy magician-in-training, sold to the government by his parents at the age of five and sent to live as an apprentice to a master. His master Arthur is cold and cruel middle rank magician, while Arthur’s wife Martha shows genuine affection and love.  Everything changes when he is publicly humiliated by the ruthless magician Simon Lovelace and betrayed by his cowardly master who does not defend him, Nathaniel vows revenge and by stealing Lovelace’s Amulet of Samarkand and puts himself in danger he never imagined. 

Richard Branson – Losing my virginity: The autobiography
Richard Branson is looked at from two completely opposite viewpoints, one is to love, cherish and admire him, while the other is to look at him as a greedy, fake and terrible person. My first encounter with him was watching Run after Million (or something similar) and he left a good image in my mind. Yet, I’m not one ready to pay the prices of Virgin trains, while I can pay less than quarter of the price to take a coach.

I have been long interested in his personality and I know a bits and tats that I have read in interviews, but I decided that it could be quite inspiring to read about his life, achievements and thought process.

Stephen  King – The girl who loved Tom Gordon
Stephen King, huh? I have never read a book by him and I am not ashamed of the fact. I know there’s a moment when you have to get to it and, well, this is my moment. See, I’m very easy to frighten and me crying about something sad (doesn’t matter if it is silly or not, e.g., cried the whole Manchester-by-the-Sea. Understandable? Sure. I cried the whole Sing animation. Acceptable? Yes, by my standards!) isn’t really a new thing for me. But obviously mostly I haven’t read them, because I would be jumpy from the horror and just genuinely scared of things that might exist. Anyway, this is my first book by Stephen King and as I was incredibly shocked when I read about a woman who got lost on Appalachian Trail last year and died just couple of miles of safety, I feel like this might be the book.

Nine-year-old Trisha McFarland strays from the path while she and her recently divorced mother and brother take a hike along a branch of the Appalachian Trail. Lost for days, wandering farther and farther astray, Trisha has only her portable radio for comfort. A huge fan of Tom Gordon, a Boston Red Sox relief pitcher, she listens to baseball games and fantasizes that her hero will save her. Nature isn’t her only adversary, though – something dangerous may be tracking Trisha through the dark woods.

Ken Liu – The paper menagerie and other stories
This was my Amazon add-on item to get to free shipping, but obviously this one has been in the air for a while. The various nominations and awards author has received speak for themselves. I did open the book, but realised that I am not ready for this read yet, so it will have to wait.

This book consists of short science fiction and fantasy stories and tales written by the author and some of them have been written years ago.

 

 

These are the books I bought in February, share your thoughts and lists of the books you have both, remember spoiler free! Cheerio!

