Kennilworthy Whisp is a Quidditch expert and author of many Quidditch related books, including Quidditch Through the Ages. He is also a passionate fan of Wigtown Wanderers and owns a collection of vintage broomsticks.

Quidditch Through the Ages provides vague look over the history of Quidditch and its development. The book describes evolving of the game’s components and gain of popularity to be the most popular sport in the European wizard community and one of the most popular wizard sports in the World.

First off the book does read like a history book, it is a bit dryer than the other Hogwarts Library books, because it doesn’t contain notes of famous people who have borrowed or owned the book, yet it still provides a fair bit of entertainment.

Secondly I have to mention that this book introduced many facts about Quidditch that seemed too basic to be mentioned (or to be of interest), yet they are just mentioned, not entirely explained. For example, the book paid a lot of attention to broomsticks and spells and charms that are used on them, as well as the way the branches are organised and reasons behind using the broomsticks, but unfortunately none of these topics are expanded well enough. One might thing it’s to avoid dryness, yet none of the spells or companies that manufacture broomsticks are described in detail and surely no one could say that would be dry. I felt like these parts really lacked some information – I would prefer them to be a bit more deeper or not appear at all.

But other than that all the other components used in Quidditch were described brilliantly. I read with great excitement (and, must admit, sadness) about the history and creation of the snitch. The development of different balls, used in this exciting sport was also interesting to read about. If I must name, I especially enjoyed the description of rock Bludgers and the story of possible development from other wizard sport (can’t recall the title of that game at the moment).

I did find that the description of all the prime teams was too much for someone who doesn’t follow the trends of Quidditch and doesn’t root for one team in particular. These descriptions seemed to merge together for me, but I appreciated the information on so many countries that do enjoy a game of Quidditch over other sports.

I received this book as an ‘envelope’ to my Christmas present, which is a trip to the studio where the films that document the great work of Mr Harry Potter were taken. I’m really excited to walk in the places where the documentary was made and can’t wait for the mid-January to do it.

Overall, unfortunately I have to rate this lover than other Hogwarts Libraries books, perhaps because it read so much like a handbook and I don’t feel like being a pupil again, but perhaps it was just because I’m not an avid fan of Quidditch myself, so I couldn’t understand the delicate art of the game. I awarded this book with two stars in my book counting system thing that muggles use, but still would say that it is a great way to broaden your horizon and see more of the magical world we all like so much.

