Hey, everyone! You haven’t heard from me in a while, right? That’s because I’ve been ill for a month and actually still am, but have started to pull myself together and hopefully illness will go away as well. This month of mostly being in bed and doing nothing means also that I will probably not meet my reading goal this year unless I become a hyper reader… but I don’t see that happening as I am still ill.

So December means that Christmas is right at our doors! Have you already started to think about Christmas gifts? (I usually start to think about the possibilities already soon after the previous Christmas, but that doesn’t mean that I’m all set.)

December is a shorter month, because of all the holidays and I felt like that has impacted the releases as well, because they are not really THAT exciting. There are many sequels coming out for series I haven’t read, so obviously I am not much interested in those, but I managed to scramble together a couple of books to put on my monthly list. There’s quite a bit in mystery genre and it seems like Gone Girl and The Girl on the Train (review) have done their job well.

Usually I am just dropping all my anticipated books together, but this time I have decided to rank them, to give an idea, where they stand in my ‘us wants it, gives it to us’ list.

5. Erin Summerill – Ever the Hunted (A Clash of Kingdoms Novel #1)
Britta’s father – the legendary bounty hunter for the King of Malam – is murdered and Britta has become an outcast, having no rights on her father’s inheritance. She seeks refugee in the Ever Woods, where she has spent countless hours being trained by her father, but she gets caught. Luckily Britta is offered a deal – her freedom in exchange for her father’s murderer. She must go on a dangerous quest in a world of warring kingdoms, mad kings, and dark magic to find the killer.

I am a little bit afraid that this book is going to be a cliche, because it covers so many ideas that have been told many, many times and I couldn’t even put them all in my little summary. But let’s hope for the best – for an awesome and fierce female protagonist.

4. Kimberly Belle – The Marriage Lie
This book is about a married couple, they both are living in a happy relationship until Will – Iris’ beloved dies in a plane crash. But Will’s death is not as simple as it might seem. He told Iris that he is going for a business trip to Orlando, yet the plane that crashed was headed to Seattle. Why was Will on that plane? Was he honest with his wife? Did he lead a double life? Was it actually him?

This is an interesting idea, but I am not very excited about this book. I like the fact that Will is supposed to be dead, but I hope very much that it won’t turn out that he is alive (sorry, Will), which would mean that there’s really no point to the investigation. Hope that it will be a lot more exciting than I’m expecting.

3. Sam Carrington – Saving Sophie
Karen’s seventeen year old Sophie is brought home drunk by police officers, but when Sophie’s friend Amy is missing twelve hours later and a young woman’s body is found, Karen starts to panic, afraid that her daughter might be in danger… or worse – involved in the murder of the young girl.

The description of this book is confusing and I am not entirely sure, if I understand it correctly or is it misleading and confusing on purpose. Nevertheless, seems very exciting, going in the path of a hero who doesn’t remember what happened.

 

2. Nicola Tallis – Crown of Blood: The Deadly Inheritance of Lady Jane Grey
Jane, who is known as “the nine days queen”, is known as one of the most tragic victims of the Tudor Era. This book is a retelling of Jane’s story, portraying her as a charismatic young lady who found herself being a young religious radical (Protestant) and died as a martyr.

I will not hide that I do not know much about this historic personality, and I don’t really feel like I could determine, if the book is as historically accurate as it presents itself, but it definitely sounds very interesting and exciting.

1. Jay Asher – Thirteen Reasons Why
Clay’s crush Hannah committed a suicide two weeks ago, so big is his surprise, when he receives a package from her in mail, containing cassette tapes, in which Hannah explains and guides Clay through the thirteen reasons why she did it. Clay can’t change the past or the future, but he can discover Hannah’s secrets that will change his life forever.

This is my most anticipated book of the month and interests me not only because it promises to be a page turner, but also because very often the ending (and culmination) of mystery and suspense genre is to find the killer, so I hope that in this book it isn’t going to play such a big role and that instead the story will offer an emotional roller coaster.

 

So these are my most anticipated books for the last month of this year! Woah, when I say it like that, it really seems like spring was just here. Well, let me know what you think of these books and, of course, the ones you are expecting the most! Hope that I will get better and will be able to return to full time blogging. Until then… Cheerio!

