Although usually I love to buy plenty of books, June has been quite a quiet month for me. What I also have noticed is that I have started to put more thought before buying books. I think about the urgency – if I really need the book right now, I consider, if I’m going to read it soonish, if I actually genuinely want to read it (or is it the peer pressure)… And it seems that these type of thoughts contribute more to my wallet and not my bookshelf. So lets move to the actual, real paper books I’ve bought this month and keep in mind that most of these are a book type that I usually don’t review on my blog. Just on my goodreads page.

Ben Welch – Jack Black: Rock ‘n’ Roll, Comedy and Kung Fu
I actually bought two copies of this book, one was for a friend of mine and the other – for me. Jack Black and Tenacious D is somewhat a teenage dream for us. We loved the film Pick of Destiny and loved the music, it’s clever, somewhat offensive, but good. So the band’s songs became sort of anthem’s to us. Obviously when I found out that I will be meeting her and saw this book in a shop, I felt like I have to get it.

I don’t know, why I got it for myself though, because usually these types of biographical books aren’t very good, but I gave in to the charm of Po… I mean JB.

 

Anne H. Putnam – Navel Gazing: One Woman’s Quest for a Size Normal
As you can tell from the title, this is another book that talks about losing weight, it’s author was already dangerously overweight only at the age of seventeen and tried a lot of things to reduce the weight and pursue the magical “size normal”, yet after losing weight, she discovers that not all problems leave when you are ten sizes smaller – not always changing your body changes how you feel about it.

This book promises happy and tearful times and looks not only at the quest of losing weight, but also at accepting yourself.

Art Spiegelman – The Complete MAUS
I have heard so much about this book and have wanted to read it for a really long time, so once I saw it on a shop’s bookshelf I immediately grabbed it. (And once I did that, the person at the counter also said that this is a really good book!)

As you might expect it from the cover of the book, it is a comical look on Hitler’s Europe and survival in it. It addresses the horror of Holocaust through graphical images and tells the story of many families. I haven’t read it yet, but I believe that this is a good way to educate about history, especially since Holocaust is such a heavy topic and in my school was a huge part of a couple not-very-interesting history lessons. So I hope that I won’t be disappointed and perhaps will be able to recommend this book to my history teaching friends (I have more than you might expect).

Andrea Pomerantz Lustig – How to Look Expensive: A Beauty Editor’s Secrets to Getting Gorgeous without Breaking the Bank
This book came into my possession because I discovered that postage from German Amazon to UK is cheaper than postage from UK Amazon to UK. Who would have thought, right? I did dread for a while that I had misunderstood that “Englisch” tag and would get a book in German, but no, it is a perfectly nice hardback copy.

The reason I bought it is because it apparently addresses many make-up problems and gives great tips. I am not entirely sure, if it is going to be good for me (because I know nothing, like Mr Snow), but when I went through some of the pages it didn’t seem packed with too much nonsense, but had actual genuine tips on how to buy and use make-up. And I know you would say – but why would I buy a book, if there’s Youtube for that. Well, my friend, I suck at Youtube, that’s why. I don’t like watching videos. I usually get tired and I just stop and go away (unless those are cat videos, then I stay), so lets hope that this book will be helpful and interesting despite it’s mixed reviews.

So that is my loot this month, let me know, if you have read any of these books and what you thought of them, as always, please keep spoilers to yourself, but I will welcome opinions about the books (or how history should be taught at schools)! Cheers!

