Sometimes I forget some pretty big releases or news about sequels just because I’m not following the news enough… or I haven’t made a note of it somewhere. So I have decided to push myself a bit more and see what are my most anticipated book releases of July.

J.K. Rowling – Harry Potter and the Cursed Child
This is big news for any Harry Potter fan and although I am really happy for it, I’m quite sure that I am not going to buy it and I am not going to read it. Why?

Well, elementary, my dear Watson. It’s because I still hope that I will somehow magically get the tickets to the London West End show and I don’t want to spoil it for myself.

This is something Harry Potter fans have been waiting since the last book came out and although I have been quite critical of Rowling’s attempts to make short stories and essays set in the world, I am still excited about it. So, yes, waiting for it and no, not reading it.

Kiersten White – And I Darken (The Conqueror’s Saga #1)
Although I have not read any other books by this author, the premise seems very intriguing and I can only hope that it won’t turn into a traditional romantic story. Even though most stories nowadays try to offer a modern and nontraditional female protagonists (in a sense of not being very girlish, not wanting to marry a prince etc.), I find them mostly unsuccessful, yet this… this brings promise of a strong female character.

Lada and her brother Radu are abandoned by their father and raised in Sultan’s court, yet that doesn’t mean that the girl has given up. As she grows, she trains to become a warrior and searches for ways to bring her wrath upon the empire that holds her captive. Yet when they meet the Sultan’s son, things change and siblings become rivals. Why? Well, we’ll have to find out.

Beth Revis – A World Without You
This story is about seventeen year old Bo, who believes that he can travel in time. He has seen many events through the history and has had a hard time coping with that, because of that his parents send him to a school for troubled youth. But Bo believes that it is actually a school for children with superpowers and for the first time opens to a girl there whose superpower is invisibility. Unfortunately she dies, but Bo doesn’t give up, he believes that he can find her, if he masters the time travel.

This book promises so much and seems mystical and emotional, full of secrets, hopes and pain. I already have ton of questions in my mind, first of which would be: are we sure that they don’t have superpowers?

Alexandra Oliva – The Last One
Zoo is one of the contestants in a survival type TV reality show, she is one of the twelve, who go into the woods to test the limits of their endurance. Yet something terrible happens and although Zoo sees it, she believes that it is just part of the game and refuses to quit, she summons all the skills she has and learns new ones in order to survive.

This story seems very promising (I’m only skeptical about that big tragedy/terrible event) and even more, it apparently stresses the meaning of media in our everyday lives and the role, control and place for manipulation it has on our actions and judgment.

Emma Rathbone – Losing It
Julia is twenty six years old, but still a virgin and she wants to change it. She decides to spend summer with her aunt Vivienne (is that a new way to lose virginity?) in North Caroline to re-route her life, but very soon she finds out that her fifty eight year old aunt is a virgin too. Julia tries to figure out why her aunt has never had sex, in order to hopefully avoid the same fate.

This book sounds interesting and funny and speaks openly of sex as sex, not as sex-this-romantic-lovely-thing-prince-princess-thing that usually just ends with kisses or is terribly misinterpreted in books.

So those are my five most anticipated books that are coming out in July! Let me know what are yours and if any of mine made in your ‘to be read’ list! I didn’t find any really romantic books that I would be interested in among this months releases. There was one that tickled my fancy, but didn’t seem good enough. Oh, and Ms Schwab is having a new book too, yet when I read the description, kind of reminded me of Vicious and I wasn’t much interested. What do you think? Are you excited?

