April was gone in just one moment and I didn’t read much in it, because… I was incredibly busy. I have extra work and some new things to learn, as well as help some of my friends with proof reading their papers (as the school year closes in) and help my brother to be motivated and learn for his exams (have you ever considered, how hard it is to be motivational every day?) and on top of all that, we’re searching tenants for our flat and planing to move and I am writing some papers myself and somehow managed to even go for a week to Budapest, where I got ill (achoo!). So yeah, a lot of stuff is happening in my life. I also believe that there’s a change in my reading pattern because I have stopped reading while on treadmill, now me and Tom are doing treadmill together and have started to watch anime about boxing. Is that too much information, lol?

But the big wave of work should pass once May is over and I hope to be back on track then. Nevertheless, the fact that I didn’t read much didn’t mean that I didn’t get any books. So here’s my loot as always – just the actual physical books I got this month!

Let’s start with Kindred Spirits by Rainbow Rowell. I actually already read this book and put a review out for it, but I would like to take the chance and thank Kat once again for sending me this book.
The main character in this book loves Star Wars and somehow queuing outside of the cinema is a challenge and an adventure for her. It doesn’t really go exactly as she expected it, she finds new friends and looks at herself from a different angle, but to know more you will have to read it. I think it is perfect for those who have enjoyed author’s stories before and those who share the Star Wars love. The book doesn’t contain spoilers of the new film, but of course it does spoil a bit the old ones, in case you haven’t watched them.


Next on the list is The Martian by Andy Weird, I am one of those rare creatures, who haven’t read or seen it and I hear plenty of crap from my brother about it, because he is in a phase where he watches every singe space film (that is not scary). Anyways a friend of mine gave me this book and I am at last going in the direction of reading it. I once started it in electronic version (and liked the beginning), but I felt like this is a book book type of read. So, yes, this is definitely on top of my priorities. So Mark is one of the first people to walk on Mars, unfortunately he most likely will become the first person to die on Mars, because after a sand storm his crew evacuated thinking that he is dead, but they were wrong. Mark tries to survive and keeps guessing what will kill him after all.

Another book I got from my friend is Ready Player One by Ernest Cline, yes, this is my second copy and as they are both used, I can’t even give one away. It is really funny because when she gave me Martian, I didn’t notice the other one and only at home I saw what I got. Well, I guess me and Tom will be able to read them at the same time and share our experiences. I already talked about this book in my previous book haul, so I will not repeat myself.


I bought this book only because the title describes me and Tom perfectly. I usually don’t go for this type of literature, but I couldn’t resist Why Men Don’t Listen and Women Can’t Read Maps by Allan and Barbara Pease. It goes through the reasons and explains why our minds work differently (and have evolved differently), including some stereotypes about gender and obviously answers the questions in the title. Although the authors claim it is a scientific work, I am more inclining to read it just for fun and wouldn’t quote it in a scientific paper.

The Beach by Alex Garland. Who hasn’t seen this amazing film? For a long time it was one of my favourite films and pretty much secured Leo as my favourite actor (for life?), which Shutter Island and Inception a lot later proved to be the right choice (for life!). And when I saw the book in a shop, I decided that it is time to read it and perhaps to re-watch the film as well. I am really interested, how they worked with the material they had, so let’s hope I like it! After discovering a paradise on an island in a Thai national park, protagonist soon finds that since civilized behavior tends to dissolve without external restraints, the utopia is hard to maintain.

I bought two books in Budapest Book Festival and the first of which was The Thirteenth Apostle by Michel Benoît. It is compared to Umberto Eco’s The Name Of The Rose and is about Father Nil who decides to investigate the mysterious death of his friend Andrei. It seems that priest Andrei might have had information that Jesus was not son of God, but a simple inspired prophet and that makes his death even more suspicious, because such information would have a destructive force on Church. I in general like these types of books, I don’t really know why, so I think I will enjoy it a lot.

Second book I bought in Budapest Book Festival is Baudolino by Umberto Eco. I think for the sake of irony I would have probably bought the Name of the Rose, but they didn’t have it. This is the very first Umberto Eco’s book I have ever had and planed to read and so I hope to like it. The edition I bought is also very beautiful with golden letter and a little Crusader on top. The story is about Baudolino who has two great talents – to learn languages and to tell lies. By a pure luck and chance he gets sent to Paris University where he makes a lot of friends and this bunch decides to go on an adventure to search of Prester John, a legendary priest-king said to rule over a vast kingdom in the East-a phantasmagorical land of strange creatures with eyes on their shoulders and mouths on their stomachs, of eunuchs, unicorns, and lovely maidens. Sounds amazing, doesn’t it?

And the last book I bought is Inkheart by Cornelia Funke. I suspect it is a children book and it is the first book in Inkworld series it is about a kid who learns that once her father reads about fictional fantasy characters in books, they came alive from the pages. And it all gets very twisted once you find out that her mother, who disappeared when Meggie was really small, might have disappeared into a book. Kids book or not, sounds interesting! I have read The Thief Lord by this author, which I also liked when I was a kid, so I’m hoping for a magical tale.

So these are the books I’ve purchased or obtained in April, I am especially pushing myself to pick up Martian, but honestly, they all are pretty cool, or at least I hope so. Let me know, what you think of these books, just please remember that I haven’t read them, so no spoilers!

