Unfortunately I have been terribly busy in April… but May doesn’t look much more brighter. That doesn’t mean that I didn’t buy any books, so I will show my April loot soon. Sadly May will also have only few reviews as I have a lot to do, but I expect that at the end of the month things will turn back to the good side. Hopefully.

I would like to thank Kat for sending me a free copy of this book. Go check out her blog!

Kindred Spirits is a mini novel by Rainbow Rowell and was produced as part of a handful of selected short reads specially produced for World Book Day 2016.

It is a story about Elena, who is a fan of Star Wars and decides to queue outside of a cinema in order to watch the sequel. She finds her place and friends in the queue, yet she doesn’t find the celebrations and costumes she was expecting. And amazingly she manages to change  and look at herself from a different angle while standing in that queue.

I read this book in airport and on a plane, yes, another plane book, but I don’t feel like it impacted much.

So I have never liked Rowell’s books (I have read Eleanor & Park (review) and Fangirl (review)), but as this was advertised as a story for adults, I expected it to be different. And based on the fact that so many people love her writing, I am still giving her second chances, but I feel like it might be time to stop (I feel so again).

I cannot not notice how similar the protagonists of all author’s books are and it seems like Rainbow is basing them on someone she knows (for example herself) very well, in order to describe the type of person. I don’t mind the type, but I do mind that it seems like I am just reading different versions of the same story. And because the protagonists are in the same mindset and in similar situations, it is hard to see, why this story would be suitable for adults while the rest of them are for young adults. I can’t really compare it with the other two books properly, because I disliked them enough to give them away.

On the bright side though I thought that this one was the best of three. It did have absurd things about it, but I guess there was not enough space to make it as bad as the other two books I’ve read. Obviously nothing really happened in this book as all Rowell’s books are character driven, not action driven, but nevertheless for me it was boring. I mean, it is boring to sit in a line and wait, but it is even worse to sit in airport, wait for your gate to appear on the screen and read about Elena waiting in a queue. And I don’t think it was airports fault. I honestly can’t see what is it that is so entertaining about her stories people love.

I did see the character changes and did appreciate them, I especially liked the fact that Elena’s view of herself was completely different than anyone else’s around her. It did open my eyes on how others might have viewed me and what characteristics they would have thought I have in school years, while I didn’t see myself the same way at all.

And I really found it hard to believe that a person can be in a class with someone for six years and not even know how he looks, sounds, or his name, it is literally impossible. I also don’t believe that so little people were interested in sleeping out before Star Wars sequel in our current world and moment. There are a lot of people out there crazy about Star Wars and the number in queue didn’t satisfy my skepticism.

I didn’t feel much attracted to the characters and didn’t care for them, I might think that it is because of how short the story is, but then again author’s books are character driven and that means that I should have at least felt a connection to one of the main three (or four, if you count mom) characters, that didn’t happen, so I can’t even say that I had a favourite character.

Overall the story was interesting and nice, but underwhelming. It received two stars from me on my goodreads page and I would suggest the general audience of Rainbow Rowell’s books to read it and, yes, still young adults, not adults.

 

