So March has already  ended and I have purchased few (ten) books during this month… so I decided to share them with you guys! I usually buy my books on impulse – if I really want to read something or if something seems interesting at that exact moment. Sometimes I order them online, but it usually ends up being a disaster. Why? Because I am overexcited, I buy a book and then… the excitement is gone when it arrives after 3-5 days. Anyways, I am going to list only the physical copies of books that I got and hope you will enjoy it and find something that might interest you. Please avoid spoilers in the comments, because I haven’t read the books, or give a spoiler alert shoutout. Thanks!


The first book I got this month was Ready Player One by Ernest Cline. I’ve been wanting to read it for a long time and everyone says that it is amazing, so at last I bought it! I actually don’t know, what it is about, but I know that a lot of people who enjoy video games and science fiction have liked it, as well as young adult fans, so I am very intrigued by what is going to happen, if two groups that generally love different things, loved this one.


Next one is Voices from Chernobyl by Norwegian author Ingrid Storholmen, which does seem a bit weird – how a Norwegian knows about what happened in Chernobyl? Anyways, it is supposed to be a compilation of stories about people who lived there and about what happened after the malfunctioning of Reactor Four. I am really looking forward to reading it, because I don’t know much about Chernobyl (somehow in school we concentrate on the Cold war and signs of USSR breakdown), so I hope to get some more knowledge on the topic.


Stoner by John Williams is a book that is a long time on my reading list and I think that I actually have an electronic version for it, but I saw it and thought that I am going to be more motivated to read it, if I have an actual copy. I don’t really remember what it is about, I think it was about a young man William who wanted to do one thing with his life, while family pushed for something else and everything went terribly wrong because of that.  I actually might dislike this book and that is one of the reasons why I’m having such a hard time getting myself to read it.

Hah, next one is The Silkworm (Cormoran Strike #2) by Robert Galbraight (or you-know-who). This one is a mistake. I bought it because I somehow erased from my memory the fact that it is the second part in a series, which really sucks. And because the author is you-know-who, I am a bit unwilling to read the first part. I disliked the previous non-fantasy book by this author, so yeaaahh, I will have to get the The Cuckoo’s Calling (Cormoran Strike #1) get myself to read it, in order for this book to actually be a valid option on my shelf.


I am trying to lose weight (my friend got me a beautiful skirt, but I have to lose some inches to get into it) so I have started to read some books about people who have lost weight, I already read one called Half-Assed: A Weight-Loss Memoir by Jennette Fulda, which was cool, I mean, I didn’t like the book (or the person?) much, but I took only the motivational things from it, so now, this month I decided to go on with this type of motivation and bought The Amazing Adventures of Dietgirl by Shauna Reid. Shauna lives in Australia and calls herself lardy, but her life soon changes thanks to support of her sister and some unexpected twists  in life. I am on purpose reading books that are experiences, not books that are full of bullshit diets. Might want some exercising motivation book, though.

The Queen Of The Tearling (The Tearling Trilogy #1) by Erika Johansen is the first book in series and I’ve heard a lot of good things about it from other people. It supposed to be about a daughter of an assassinated queen, who once reaches 19th birthday is trying to rise and wipe out the wrongs of her mother. And as far as I understand, it is based in a fantasy setting, so that is main reason I got it. I’ve been longing for a good fantasy book for a while now and I know that Patrick Rothfuss’ The Name of the Wind (The Kingkiller Chronicle #1) has been standing on my shelf for around 6 months now, but it looks so big… So this might get me moving in the fantasy area.


Next one is by Japanese author Yoko Ogawa named Revenge. This author is new to me, but apparently people compare her to Haruki Murakami (sold to me, huh?). Actually I bought it just because the annotation sounded pretty cool, so a lady every year buys a cake – strawberry tart for her sons birthday although her son is dead. She tells this story to another customer in the shop and from there on we have dark, but beautiful narrative. I thought it sounded really cool, so I’ll give it a try.


The next one is a small book by Erlend Loe – another Norwegian author, it is called: Naïve. Super. This one really, really excites me, because it’s about a 25 year old who struggles to find meaning in his life, so he quits his studies and starts to search for the meaning, becoming obsessed with time and if time matters at all. He tries to get to understand life and the best way to live it. I find this premise so interesting, because in modern days a lot of stress is put on filling your dreams and achieving goals, yet it is also an era, where are a lot more possibilities than 10-20 years ago, so finding that dream and passion is not that easy. And I like that it concentrates on the life’s meaning and goal, because sometimes we concentrate on the success stories so much that we forget to help those who are struggling to find their dreams.


The next one is by Patrick Easter and as far as I checked goodreads, it is supposed to have a reprint this year. It is called The Watermen (Tom Pascoe #1) and portrays London at the end of the 18th century and has two main characters – Boyin and Tom Pascoe. Tom joins the Marine Police force and knows very well who is behind the most criminal activity in the Port – his former shipmate Boylin, yet he cannot prove it. I like the setting and the idea of it, as well as the fact that it happens in London, so I’m looking forward to this read!


And the last book I bought this month is Momo by Michael Ende, the author of The Neverending Story. I wanted to read this since the beginning of high school, so once I saw it in the shop I just instantly picked it up and didn’t give myself time for doubts. I think that the film Neverending story was a big thing for my generation and I wish to read and re-watch that again as well, but first – Momo!

So that is all – all the physical book copies that I’ve bought this month. If you really want me to read one faster than other to hear my thoughts, let me know in the comments below and I will see what I can do. And as always I look forward to hear, what you think of these books and which ones you liked and loved!

