John Green is very well known Young Adult writer and Looking for Alaska is his very first novel, that came out in 2005 and was published by Dutton Juvenile… but the real reading and selling boom happened in 2012 after Green’s most famous novel The Fault in Our Stars first saw daylight and became an instant hit.

Looking for Alaska was also signed to become a film, but due to lack of interest it was postponed, incidentally now, when Green has become famous and the Fault in our Stars has been such success (both book and film) Paramount has decided to go with it and are planing to start filming in 2016.

This is the second novel from Green I’ve read and although I haven’t liked his work so far, I have already promised myself to read Paper Planes, so I will see him again – fortunately or unfortunately.

Narrator and protagonist of this book is Miles who makes a decision to go to a boarding school in order to start a new life, well, because his old life sucks and he believes that there’s a possibility that the new one wouldn’t or at least would suck less.

He finds friends and has a new life, accepting the rules of his friends and takes part in their pranks and adventures as well as many drinking and smoking parties.

This book unfortunately was boring – in the first part of the book nothing really happened, it was just a boring lame teenager life. He was doing what everyone else did, just to fit in and seem cool, he was falling for a girl that was way out of his league and didn’t care for him, and just dreaming up things that would never happen. The second part of the book got a little bit more interesting until I had enough clues in order to guess the plot twist, which happened way earlier then self centered Miles could think of it.

A big part of the book was pranks that were played in the school and honestly I think that they were stupid and pointless, but, if I would accept that it could be fun, then it wouldn’t be reading about them – if you are the one doing the pranking, because reading pranks don’t give the satisfaction or excitement. But, yes, I still feel like all the people in the book overrated the pranks.

My favourite character in the book was the Colonel. He was a sweet boy and I liked him, his character made sense and was quite classical poor boy scenario. I didn’t much like Alaska – first of all because she was a person (not place)and second of all, because she was quite a bitch, who was idolized both by author and characters of the book, although in reality she’s completely unpredictable. She is smoking, drinking, but yet super hot with those amazing cheekbones, terrifying back story, very smart and on top of all classes, besides she’s tutoring everyone else (what seems like) in the whole school and of course she is a feminist who reads a lot and asks deep questions she has read in books or that came to her because of her readings. I could put most of the things together from her character, but the feminism fit in there and her random feminist shouting was really throwing me off. Otherwise I thought that she was a well made character with good reasoning and I could see her in real life – just as fucked up as people happen to be. Especially because I’ve done so many things in my life, which I didn’t or couldn’t explain – just living – drinking, smoking, kissing, throwing tantrums. It all makes sense and has happened in my life and I’m sure – in many girl’s lives. Not everything has a purpose or a reason. Boys very often fail to see it or admit it, especially in this book.

I was really seriously disappointed that Alaska was a girl (not a place) and upset by the fact that there was so much smoking and drinking in the book, not because it is bad, but because it is just simply boring, there are no new ways to describe it.

Those few sentences that could be quoted and seemed included in the book in order to be quoted, but unfortunately the actual good questions weren’t discovered, because that would mean getting deeper into the matter and problems, but that is not what teenagers come for, when they come to read this book and it was a shame, because that limits this book to only Young Adults. I have no interest of reading these parts of teenage life that I have gone through myself and had enough of adventures. This book is very much a Young Adult book and I honestly think that I am too old for it.

I can see why Green is recommending Rainbow Rowell and vice verse, because I feel pretty much like I’ve read one of her books, which I also don’t like one bit and it gives such a similar feel that most likely one author’s fans will like the other authors books. I would probably say that this is a young adult book, but cannot give a direct suggestion, just because I found the book boring. It received two stars out of five on my goodreads page and took me a really long time to read, just because it was so hard to pick up.

