Agatha Christie known as the mother of suspense is author of Hercule Poirot series that are world wide known already for years… Recently I decided to get on with these series as I like a good puzzle and a mind game, so I am now finished with the second book and happily (or sadly?) can say that I indeed did guess the murderer.

The Murder on the Links is a curious story about a man who has been found dead – killed with his wife’s letter knife on the links, where a golf course was being built, while his wife was bound and gagged in her bedroom by two South Americans. But the most curious thing about this crime is that victim sent for the old Poirot even before the crime took place and to make matters even more interesting, his rival French detective Monsieur Giraud is doing an amazing job at finding the murderer, even Hastings – Poirot’s sidekick – can’t but admire Giraud and think, if Poirot isn’t too old for this job.

I’m pretty sure that you don’t have to read the first book in the series, in order to read this one. The first one is mentioned in this book, but it is not really important and otherwise the story is completely independent from the first one.

I liked this book better than the first one in the series (The Mysterious Affair at Styles, review – here) and the main reason for it would be that Poirot wasn’t the only detective, he wasn’t really treated like a god (as usually it happens) and the competition was really interesting and fun to read. I have to admit that one of them was obviously arrogant while the other not so much and that arrogance bordered a bit with stupidity, which makes the story a bit less believable, but was fine and didn’t cause that much annoyance.

What did cause frustration was Hastings. Beth here has expressed my feelings perfectly. He was such an unlikable character that he made the story harder to read. Not only that – he had unusual feelings for one of the characters those feelings were completely unjustifiable, because there was no ground for them. I get it that there can be some unexplainable reasons for liking, not liking etc. someone, but this was just so out of the blue that I wanted to punch him. And not only when taking about this but in general attitude to his friend Poirot! Hastings was so diminishing that it hurt my eyes!

And because of this annoyance of Hastings and police, it was a bit hard to appreciate Poirot’s genius, he seemed just to notice obvious things because the other people were so ignorant. And by the end I had two things to be sad about – one – the fact that I predicted the killer correctly (but not the circumstances) and two – the fact that Poriot didn’t sit everyone down to explain what really happened – I kind of think that there’s something magical about sitting in a room and explaining what happened.

And once again I could appreciate living and knowing London, because when the things happened in UK, I had very clear vision of what and where happens (I think that I have even taken the ferry from Calais to Dover) and it gave me some impression of what time did it took in the olden days to get from one place to another.

I was wondering, if I should give three or four stars and although the ending part, where I was reading it on tube or sitting in a pub waiting for my food, wasn’t really the author’s fault, but the loudness around me did make me less concentrated on the book and the ending wasn’t really to my liking, so, I gave it three stars on my goodreads page.

As I said before this book is for thinkers and lovers of Christie’s talent and there’s not much recommendation to be done, because everyone has met Agatha Christie’s work and has an impression of it. It is just like or dislike and based on the fact that her website says that only Bible and Shakespeare has outsold her, we can be pretty sure that most of the people will like her work.

