I would like to thank Netgalley, HarperCollins UK and the author – Kiera Cass for a free digital copy of this book in exchange for my honest opinion.

The Elite by Kiera Cass is the second book in a five book series named The Selection. This book was first published on April 23rd 2013 by HarperTeen and recently the fourth book in the series came out.

The Elite continues to follow America’s way through the Selection process where the prize is a crown and a prince. Only Elite is left in the Selection process now, and that makes the competition a lot more stressful. Prince is getting more intimate with the girls, which makes some of them jealous and one can never be too sure that the other girls are not going to sabotage her, because some of them are ready to play dirty.

Even though the author does explain things very clearly whenever there could be any questions about the past, I fell like the first book has to be read before moving onto this one, only then the relationship with Aspen and the situation with prince is clear and also then one can see the changes in America as she is getting more stressed and doesn’t understand her feelings and that makes her whiny and sometimes stupid.

This book is fast paced, which means that you don’t have a lot of time to linger on authors mistakes or be frustrated by some characters hence you get over it soon and the next exciting episode is happening. Honestly I don’t think I could predict anything that happened there at all (and I’m usually pretty good at predictions) and it is not because it was so sudden, but because the book will not let you do that. So, yeah, most things that happened surprised me and kept me hooked. Though I have to admit, I wasn’t as entertained as with the first one, and in the middle I just got a slightly bit bored from the same problems America kept having and making for herself.

It just frustrated me so much that she is just going around and being so impulsive – not giving prince any answers, just hopes, not acting like a mature person who actually could be a princess and at the same time criticizing prince for his actions and for doing his role in the Selection. Come on, America! Who is seeing Aspen behind who’s back?

And talking about Aspen… Why the hell is he there? I mean obviously he is friendzoned and used as generator for ideas, but is not nearly as much of a love interest and lover as in the first book. I actually kept thinking that at some point America will catch him with Lucy, but that didn’t happen. Yeah, I still don’t believe that bastard!

I did tear up though at one point it was after the episode with Marlee – the fathers letter and the queen did squeeze out a bit of a water from my eyes. But this kind of inspirational and admiring text has always had an impact on me, so you don’t have to be a professional to do that!

I actually did a quiz before reading this book to determine, which character from the book am I and I was Kriss, so I started to pay additional attention to this character and thought that she is a bit controversial. At one point she is shouting that nobody knows what she has gone through but at the next she is the fluffy bunny which basically turns her into another Marlee. I was slightly disappointed by that.

I am still on team Maxon although I was also disappointed in him and his explanations for the actions he took, were not good enough for me and I don’t think that I could forgive and forget it as easy as America did.

Unfortunately I did not enjoy excerpts from the diary (as I said in the review for the first book, I didn’t enjoy the politics although I understand that it will have a huge role in the series) and did not understood, how America could have even considered doing with diary what she did. It was just unbelievable! And until the last moment I believed that this is it, she is going to be killed by king or stolen by the rebels and will become the Mockingjay (Hunger Games) of some sort or something like that will happen as it seemed that sometimes she can be so elegant and mature, but right a second after that – just a stupid child.

The ending as I have stressed out before was unexpected for me and left me hanging to know what is going to happen next. Not as much as the first one though so I will read something in the middle, but still, I am going for the third one!

This book is definitely for romance and young adult fans and the people who enjoyed the first one should read the next one, but those who hated it – let it go, don’t, you will hate this one even more and will just waste your time.

I gave this book three stars in my goodreads page after a long consideration, if it deserves four stars and how much exactly worse than the first one it was, the fact that America expects loyalty but doesn’t give it in return lost a star for her.

What do you think of the series? Which book and which character is your favourite? Let me know in the comments!

